Board of Directors

Mutual Ground is blessed by a wonderful group of people who serve as our board of directors. They receive no financial compensation and generously donate their time and financial support. Our board members help guide us by exercising their judgment in overseeing our organization’s affairs. They also ensure that Mutual Ground complies with all applicable governmental regulations.

Officers of the Board


Andi Danis
Cohort Program Manager/Advisor, Aurora University

Vice President/Treasurer/Finance Chair

Marlene Deck
Sr Mortgage Banker, Compass Mortgage, Inc.

Vice President/Board Development Chair

Dr. Renae Franiuk
Associate Professor of Psychology, Aurora University

Vice President/Fundraising-Marketing Chair

Heather Schmidt
Realtor, RE/MAX Professionals Select


Steve Schultz
Walk for Hope Co-Chair                                                                                                                                                         Controller/Office Manager, LPS Pavement Co.

Members of the Board

Anne Barrett                                                                                                                                                Food For Thought Chair
Director of Risk Management, Rush Copley Medical Center

Deborah Gurley
Real Estate Broker, Miscella Real Estate

Neil F. Harnen, MBA, CFP
President, Harnen Wealth Management

Joseph B. Henning
President, CEO, Aurora Chamber of Commerce

Jeremy Lime
Attorney, Immigration Law Office of Jeremy Lime

Jamie Mosser
Attorney, Klein and Mosser, LLC

Dr. Medea Rambish
Dean for Developmental Education and College Readiness, Waubonsee Community College

Kaleshia Page
Government Affairs Manager, Comcast Cable

George Sterling
George Sterling, CPA

Gail Hernly
Chief Financial Officer, Tek Pak, Inc.

Sharon Surrett
Walk for Hope Co-Chair                                                                                                                                                                        
Licensed Insurance Agent, Specializing in Long-Term Care Solutions, ACSIA Partners

Juan Thomas
Attorney, Juan Thomas Law

Josh Whitt
Partner, Whitt Law


Life Member

Cynthia Allen*

*Past President of Mutual Ground

Michelle Meyer
Executive Director, Mutual Ground